Altagård, Farmstead in Alta Municipality, Finnmark, at the lowest levels of the Alta Fjord near the west bank of the Alta River outlet. It was originally erected at about 1740 as a residence for the governor in Finmark (Amtmann). But later on it becomes a Catholic mission (North Pole mission, 1856-1902). When the conscription was introduced in the Northern Norway in 1897. It was purchased by the military as quarters and parade grounds which was originally for Alten cred company. Afterwards, it becomes the quarters for Alta Battalion until closure in 1995. The farm was burned by the Germans during the evacuation in March 1945, along with the beautiful tall pine forest at the farm, which was a natural historical landmark. After the war, Alta Farm was rebuilt in it’s old style. The main building is on two floors with turret.
Source: Great Norwegian Encyclopedia