King Oscar II Chapel located in Pasvik valley in Sør-Varanger municipality in Finnmark. The chapel was erected as border protection against Russia, after the Russians had not respected the Norwegian border after border demarcation in 1826. It is a long church in stone with 72 seats. It was consecrated on 26 September 1869 by Bishop Fredrik Waldemar Hvoslef and restored in 1992. The architect for the chapel was Jacob Wilhelm Nordan.
It had since the first Norwegian settlement in Grense Jakobselv in 1851 been a desire among the Norwegian population to get its own chapel. Furthermore, it was for distinction in 1826 still disagreement between the Norwegian authorities and Russian fishermen on the border. After reporting several harsh confrontations between magistrates Norwegian and Russian fishermen, suggested the governor in Finnmark to let a warship of the Navy conduct fisheries inspectorate the months fishery happening. Interior Ministry wanted an independent investigation of the circumstances and sent Lieutenant Commander Heyerdahl north to familiarize themselves with the case. Heyerdahl shared, however, not the Governor’s views on which solution would be the most appropriate and he suggested instead to erect a chapel at Grense Jakobselv.
The parallel to the Russian Orthodox chapel in Boris Gleb is striking, since precisely what had been crucial at border recovery in 1826. An Evangelical-Lutheran chapel would be an indisputable boundary marking the border between Sweden-Norway and Russia. Thus fell the national security and Grense Jakobselv population’s interests together. In 1865, it was decided that it would be built a chapel in the «border» and simultaneously a rectory. Summer of 1869 was the new chapel built of granite finish, and in September the same year was consecrated by Bishop Fredrik Waldemar Hvoslef.
His name got chapel first when King Oscar II visited it on 4 July 1873. In memory of the visit he filled the chapel is a marble plate with the inscription: «King Oscar II heard the word of God here July 4, 1873» and on Sami: «gonagas Oscar II gulai Ibmel sane dobe dam 4 ad July 1873 «. At the same time he uttered a desire to get the church named after him. That was the course and it was made a name plate that still hangs over the door. Because the chapel because of its location from the beginning was an important feature for seafarers, and that it would be even more visible from the sea, the chapel was whitewashed in 1883 and again in 1884. This white liming was removed in 1969 in connection with the chapel 100th anniversary. All church silver was stolen during the liberation of Finnmark in 1944.